Rottnest Island Defences

This lovely photo by Bill Hatto from Thursdays’ West newspaper is of 100 year old Mrs Rae Hussey, wife of Captain Frank Hussey, commander of the WWII defences on Rottnest Island. In ‘Jacks Island’ I changed his name to Hurley and promoted him to Colonel. In the article that was with this photo I saw that Captain Hussey  was eventually promoted to Brigadier General, without any help from me.

About normanjorgensen

I'm an Australian writer of books for kids and teenagers. I like traveling and seeing the world, especially through the the lens of my camera. I'm addicted to old movies, red wine and books and decent music.
This entry was posted in History, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rottnest Island Defences

  1. Avon Wilsmore says:

    I remember Frank and Rae Hussey… they played a lot of bridge in Perth at WABC in the 60s and 70s…

Leave a Reply

